Since 1997, Peace Learning Center has reached more than 165,000 people locally and internationally. Peace Learning Center was founded by Tim Nation, PLC’s current Executive Director, and Charlie Wiles, who is currently Executive Director of the Center for Interfaith Cooperation.

Peace Learning Center is located in Indianapolis’ Eagle Creek Park at the former Eagle Crest Estate of J.K. Lilly, Jr., brother of Eli Lilly. Eagle Creek Park is the fourth largest city park in the United States which is a beautiful setting for indoor or outdoor programs as well as year-round nature hikes. A partnership with the City of Indianapolis and Indy Parks and Recreation provides this incredible setting for PLC programs and administrative staff. In addition to housing Peace Learning Center activities, our building is also hosts yoga classes sponsored by Peace through Yoga. Click here to visit the Peace through Yoga website.

It all started with a few people concerned about neighborhood and family violence in Indianapolis and grew to a community educational institution promoting peace-building and conflict resolution with programs replicated in eight US cities and five countries.

Peace Learning Center works directly with schools, community nonprofits, businesses, juvenile correctional facilities, and faith groups to facilitate peace education sessions.

At Peace Learning Center, we believe everyone can be a peacemaker. Each of our sessions is designed to teach safe and simple ways to manage anger, solve problems, and develop appreciation for differing perspectives.

PLC has been honored to receive the following awards:

Indiana Achievement Award for Innovation,

Indiana Department of Education – Service Learning Star Award,

World Council of Churches – Blessed are the Peacemakers Award

City of Indianapolis Sam H. Jones Best of the Best Diversity Award

Niagara Foundation’s Community Service Award

IUPUI Chancellor’s Community Award for Civic Engagement

Indiana Youth Institute –Youth Investment Award

Indianapolis Education Association’s Spirit of Martin Luther King Award